Interlatina Interlatina


Teton Village, Wyoming

From Santa Fe to Wyoming! Bruno A is 21 years old, studies Computer Engineering and left Work & Travel to work at the Four Seasons Resort Jackson Hole for the first time, and tells us about his experience

Name: Bruno A
Age: 21
Profession: Computer Engineering Student
Destination: Teton Village, WY
Company and position where you work: Four Seasons Resort Jackson Hole - Steward

What is the experience for?
The experience helped me to know other places and other people. I like traveling a lot. It also helped me to improve my English and earn some money.

Is the job as you imagined?
More or less. On the one hand great because I don't have to wash the dishes by hand haha, and I also have more tasks, such as being aware of the dishes that a chef needs for example.

What is the work environment like? How is the relationship with other coworkers?
The work environment is spectacular, and the colleagues are amazing. The chefs play music and sometimes they even leave us the speaker so we can continue listening while we work and they are not there. We stayed at the hotel in the employee section, which is separated by floors. I am on the boys' floor in a shared room with another J1 student with bunk beds, and we share the bathroom with the room next door. Meals are included, the cafeteria opens from 11 am to 2 pm and after 4 pm to 7 pm. There are people from all over the world, from Mexico, Haiti and of course from North America. A large and beautiful group was assembled, including those living in the housing in the town near the hotel.

What are the best things about your job? And the worst?
The best? The atmosphere that is fantastic, the fact of being able to interact with the chefs, who are super attentive. Yesterday, for example, I spent my birthday at the hotel's 5-star restaurant, and not only did we have the employee discount but also the chefs brought us other dishes that we hadn't even asked to celebrate. The were so nice!
The only bad thing that happened to me was an allergy to a soap that gave me a skin rash. But then I don't have much more.

What do you do on your days off?
On our days off we usually go to the town or the mountain. But you can also take the bus and in 30 minutes be in town to go to the cinema, or bowling, or we stay at the hotel gathering there. We met guys from other hotels too, which was very good.

Could you visit other places?
Yes, we went to Idaho to do Social Security, to Salt Lake City we went in a car that we rented among several (8 people!) And there we spent the entire $$ in the outlets.
We also went to watch an NBA game, with my friend Santi. It was very very good, impressive stadium.

What surprised you the most?
I was a little surprised at everything. I had gone to Bariloche with my family. Here is all surrounded by mountains, the landscapes are beautiful, the difference in life is a bit shocking. Everything here is much easier and accessible. Buy a high-end cell phone, or branded clothing, you go to the supermarket and you have access to everything!

What would you recommend to someone who would like to follow in your footsteps?
I would recommend looking for a job that involves speaking with clients to improve English. And if it is with tips, the better! Oh and if you can find an employer to provide meals, that was very helpful haha.