Interlatina Interlatina


Hamburg, New Jersey

Manuel B is 21 years old, studies to be an English Professor and he went to Hamburg, NJ. He tells us his experience

Name: Manuel B
Age: 21
Profession: Studies to become an English Teacher
Destination: Hamburg, NJ
Company and position where you work: Crystal Springs Resort - Houseman

What is the experience for?
To meet very cool people, improve English a lot, learn typical things from here. I have gotten a lot better when communicating in English.

Is the job as you imagined?
The job itself is very good but I thought they were going to change me to the kitchen and it didn't happen. I am from houseman, who is responsible for carrying the laundry, vacuuming, etc. The job is full time, 8 hours per day, but without overtime. The hotel is very close to a ski resort so it is full when the season is good and there is snow.

What is the work environment like? How is the relationship with other coworkers?
There is a boss, a manager and two supervisors and they are good but the head of housekeeping is not receptive. We get along very well with the coworkers, they are all very good. The job is good, it is a normal job, they don't demand a lot from you.

What are the best things about your job? And the worst?
The best part of the job is that over all, compared to Argentina, I earn very well. We also have positive things like 30% discount at restaurants, the use of the pool, jacuzzi and gym for free, all fantastic.
The worst part of the job is the environment that is generated when the boss who is the strictest comes in, who does not even let you speak.

What do you do on your days off?
Today I have day off and I will not do anything haha, but almost always we go to the pool or the jacuzzi. Other times we went to Mountain Creek which is the ski resort to ski, or we go shopping about 5 km away from the hotel, which we go with a shuttle. We have also made trips to New York.

Could you visit other places?
Yes. We went to New York and Mountain Creek.

What surprised you the most?
What surprised me most was that when we arrived it was all full of snow. It was my first time in the snow, and also the first time I skied!

What would you recommend to someone who would like to follow in your footsteps?
Firstly that they do some kind of research on the place you are going to work at. I accepted the job offer without even looking at the place haha. I would also recommend being mentally strong not to miss so much.
Regarding the level of English, I would recommend that you come with a strong foundation because when they give you orders it can get frustrating when you don't understand what they are explaining to you multiple times.

All this information is very useful for us and for children who want to travel with the program so we thank you very much for your collaboration.